Steering Committee

Timeline for Chair and Vice Chairs Selection Process:



September 19 | 12 pm

Self Nomination Form for Chair and Vice Chairs Opens

September 21 | 12 pm 

Self Nomination Form for Chair and Vice Chairs Closes

September 21 | 3 pm 

Election Poll Opens 

September 25 | 2 pm

Election Poll Closes

September 25 | EOD

Poll Results Announced 

A date will be coordinated once chairs are selected

Planning TouchPoint with Chair | Vice Chairs

September 28 | 1 pm 

Steering Committee Meeting 

Driving Economic Development with Strategic Leadership

As the governing body, the Steering Committee plays a vital role in incorporating feedback and data from the Affinity and Sub Regional Tables. Informed by this information and guided by the overall Governance Structure, they make crucial decisions concerning the region's design and implementation of HRTC strategies for Los Angeles County.

The committee's responsibilities encompass key designs in Phase 1 of the Regional Strategy, including finalizing the Economic Development and Transition Roadmap and prioritizing implementation projects through Project Strategies. These decisions are driven by data analysis and need assessments, combined with substantial input from the Affinity and Subregional Tables, Hub Leads, and the Stewardship Committee. Moving on to Phase 2, the Steering Committee defines goals/outcomes and determines the types of data to be utilized. Additionally, they contribute to the Outreach and Engagement Strategy and lead the Implementation Strategy.

With its comprehensive decision-making process and collaborative approach, the Steering Committee plays a critical role in shaping and executing the CERF LA HRTC strategies, paving the way for a sustainable and impactful future for the region. Learn more about the Roles and Responsibilities of the Steering Committee: Click Here.

Meet the Steering Committee

The Steering Committee consists of 38 elected representatives who encompass influential voices from government, labor, business, industry, and community stakeholders. This committee serves as the primary decision-making entity for the High Road Transition Collaborative.

A significant majority of the Steering Committee's positions are reserved for leaders rooted in community-based organizations within disinvested communities. These leaders are deeply engaged with grassroots initiatives and community-driven approaches. 

In alignment with the proposal, the formation of the Steering Committee involved selecting representatives from the Affinity and Subregional Tables, Hub Leads, essential CERF-related stakeholder groups, and community members chosen through a selective process. Among the seats in the Community-Based Leaders subgroup, 12 positions will be specifically designated for leaders of the Affinity Hub Areas.

Additionally, the Fiscal Agent and Regional Convener will hold non-voting seats on the Steering Committee.

Affinity Hub Leads: 

The Steering Committee includes 12 elected Affinity Hub Leads, who have a dual mandate to strengthen and shape representation in the decision-making process while also driving community engagement efforts.
  1. Employers/Business - Kevin Harbour - Biz Fed Institute 
  2. Labor and Workers - Brady Collins | KIWA
  3. Institutional & Government - Kelly LoBianco | County of Los Angeles Department of Economic Opportunity 
  4. Youth - Cheyanne Capelo | Lost Angels Children's Project
  5. Families - Bobby Lee Davis III | Dylette Family Foundation 
  6. Economic Development - Tunua Thrash-Ntuk | The Center by Lendistry 
  7. Homeless, Veterans, and Seniors - Linda Kelly | Fathers and Mothers Who Care
  8. Civic Engagement/Place-Based Coalitions - Benjamin Torres | Community Development Technologies Center 
  9. Underemployed Adults - Jessica Quintana | Centro CHA
  10. Sustainability - Stella Ursua | GRID Alternatives Greater Los Angeles (GLA) 
  11. Academia - Andrea Slater | UCLA Labor Center 
  12. Immigrants - Sejal Patel | Rising Communities (formerly Community Health Councils)

General Steering Committee:

Business and Industry

  1. Luis Portillo, San Gabriel Valley Economic Partnership


  1. Dr. Narineh Makijan - Los Angeles Regional Consortium

Community-Based Leaders

  1. Libby Williams - Vermont Slauson Economic Development Corporation

  2. Toni Symonds - American Indian Chamber of Commerce of California

  3. Derek Steele - Social Justice Learning Institute

  4. Rudy Espinoza - Inclusive Action for the City

  5. Veronica Padilla - Pacoima Beautiful

  6. Ricardo Mendoza - Coalition for Responsible Community Development CRCD

  7. Robert Sausedo - Community Build Inc

  8. Zahirah Mann - South Los Angeles Transit Empowerment Zone (SLATE-Z)

  9. Drew Mercy - Antelope Valley Economic Development and Growth Enterprise (AV EDGE)

  10. Hyepin Im - Faith and Community Empowerment (FACE)

  11. Matt Horton - Milken Institute

  12. Sharon Evans - Business Resource Group 
Municipal Partners
  1. Rita Kampalath, LA County Chief Sustainability Office 
  1. Jennifer Zellet
  2. Kevin Clark
  3. Sam Lewis
  4. Dr. Najuma Smith
  5. Steven D. Turner

Steering Committee Meeting Mins & Resources

Meeting Mins & Resources